Just naturally whitening my teeth….

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before or not, but I’m getting married in September.  And all brides want  whiter teeth for all those pictures, right?

And my teeth aren’t very white….

However, here is a list of ingredients in popular whitening strips:

Polypropylene, Polyethylene, Pyrophosphate, Sodium Saccharin, Sodium Hydroxide, Acrylates Copolymer, PEG, Polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), Carbomer, Hydrogen Peroxide, Glycerin, Water.

(source)

Do you really want all that in your mouth? Leeching into your blood stream??

If you answered no, like I did, you’ll love this post.

As I was searching for natural whiteners, I read a lot about activated charcoal. Its supposed to whiten teeth, as well as be good for your health.

Here’s the list of ingredients:

Activated charcoal

Sounds better don’t it? Its chemical free, and one ingredient.

Then I saw Healthy Roots, Happy Soul doing it, and I knew it must work.

So how do you do it??

 First off, get yourself some activated charcoal here.

Next, get a toothbrush, dip it in the charcoal and brush gently onto your teeth until they are all evenly covered with charcoal.

Like so:

Arrrghhh. I totally felt like a pirate..

Arrrghhh. I totally felt like a pirate..

Sexy, ain’t it??

Let it rest on your teeth (or you can swish it around, or pretty much anything as long as its in your mouth and on your teeth) for 3-5 minutes.

Then rinse.

The result are immediate.

Here’s my teeth before and after 1 use:

7uk7kph26awjq0mfrfiiwh8klprw6xo1

There a full shade whiter. I can’t wait to see how much whiter they get after I continue to use it!

Also, don’t worry if you swallowed some of it, activated charcoal actually has a plethora of uses and health benefits!!

So get whitening!!

Like what you read?

Follow me on Facebook!

~Courtney,  The Crunchy Delinquent

This post was featured on Natural Living Monday’s!

Shared on Natural Living Monday, Weekend Whatever Link-up!

14 thoughts on “Just naturally whitening my teeth….

  1. That is a pretty significant difference! I have personally used baking soda with peroxide as a teeth whitener, but I may try this (since I have some charcoal from my homemade mascara 🙂

    I’ll let you know how it goes! Thanks for sharing on Natural Living Monday!

  2. This is awesome! I’m in the CDing group on Babycenter and decided to check out your blog 🙂 I have pretty sensitive teeth and the whitening strips are too painful so I’m definitely going to have to try this!

  3. Besides that, how could I use essential oils to whiten teeth?
    Lemon or other citrus oil?
    I have heard the Birch was very good at that. But I haven’t any Birch.

    • I have read that using lemon or orange peels works, but I’ve never seen anything about the oil, though I’m assuming it would have a similar effect. So maybe if you put some lemon/orange essential oil in a carrier oil, like olive or coconut (which is a teeth whitening/oral health method in itself known as oil pulling) it might help whiten your teeth. However, the acidity in citrus fruit can wear down the enamel on your teeth and can put tiny holes in your teeth promoting cavities. And I’ve never even heard of using birch! I will have to look into that!

      • careful with the essential oil concentrations guys do some checking and research – the high pure concentration ones are good but need to be treated with care – the junk ones – don’t put them near your mouth!

  4. Pingback: Chemical Free Beauty Routine | The Crunchy Delinquent

  5. Pingback: Best Way to Whiten Teeth Naturally | peaceandhonestlife

  6. Here a few natural solutions:

    A glass of water after eating to rinse away food debris.
    Strawberries contain natural whitening properties.
    Chewing raisins increases saliva, a bit like chewing gum.
    Milk, yoghurt and cheese contain properties which promote strong tooth enamel. A lot of staining is down to enamel loss.
    And finally of course, brushing and flossing.

  7. Here’s something else you might try Courtney. Apple cider vinegar. Before you brush in the morning, swish around a little apple cider vinegar in your mouth. The vinegar kills bacteria on the tongue and teeth that can cause bad breath. It also helps fight stains to whiten teeth.

  8. Would you be willing to do a follow up on this one, to show the wedding pics, with those newly whitened teeth? And how about long term? Have they continued to whiten? Do you still do it?

Leave a comment