Couch to 5K Challenge!

gq92njkwcy62j2o4mv4s9r8plvdjd5tx

The 7 day real food challenge got me stuck on challenges so now I want to do my own!!

You may have heard of the Couch to 5K before, you may have even done it or tried to do it!

I have been wanting to do it for ages but never did. As soon as I decided I wanted too I found out I was pregnant. And your not supposed to start new stuff when your pregnant, just continue what you were doing. So I never did. I’ve been trying to get my hands on a jogging stroller since she was born so I could start and am finally gonna have a little extra money next week to get one.

My fiancé also wants to get back into running. He had to run and get Delilah her binky and was out of breath and decided its time to get back in shape, haha!

So I’ve come up with a master plan!!

Here’s the deal-

I have trouble sticking with exercise routines and I generally have very little interest or motivation to continue them. This time I feel very motivated to actually go through with it, so that’s a good start. However, if other people join me (or at the very least I’m accountable to someone i.e. you followers!) I won’t be able to quit.

Beginning August 1st, ending October 3rd, 3 days a week, half an hour a day I will be doing the Couch to 5k! At the end of which I will run a 5K 3 times a weeks to stay in shape.

What on earth is the couch to 5k?

Well its an exercise program (and there’s an app for your smart phone!) that can take any beginner runner and in 9 weeks you’ll be able to run a 5k! (5K is equal to a tad over 3 miles). The work outs are 3 days a week, half an hour each. The first week you start with a 5 minute warm up walk, then you alternate running 60 seconds with walking 90 seconds for 8 repetitions followed by a 5 minute cool down walk. The next week the running time increases and so on. It trains you slow enough to get your body used to it. Instead of going out, trying to run, then giving up because you did too much too fast and it hurt too bad.

So, why are you posting about it?

As I said earlier, I’d love to be accountable to you guys. Every week I will share a post on what this weeks work out is, how I’m doing, how I’m feeling, if I’ve lost weight, if it hurts, if I feel better about myself etc. Anyone who wants to join me can comment and let me know how you feel! Any bloggers who want to join will be linked back to this post and can share their own posts on it! It’ll be a fun way to get active and do the same routine as others and see all the results. I will share more often on my Facebook about it, but I hate having tons of repetitive blogs posts all the time, so it’ll just be one per week on the blog.

Is anyone with me?

 I’d love it someone, (or a few someones) joined me!

couch-to-5k

I seriously can’t wait!

~Courtney, The Crunchy Delinquent

8 thoughts on “Couch to 5K Challenge!

  1. I did c25K. I really enjoyed it! You can do it! Just don’t give up. The first day of each week is tough, but by the end of the week, you’re usually feeling strong and capable. Good luck.

  2. I’ll join you. I haven’t done much running this summer at all. I’ve also hurt my shoulder so I need to back off the body weight stuff for awhile.

  3. Pingback: The Final Real Food Challenge Days | The Crunchy Delinquent

  4. Pingback: The Fit Flexitarian :: Lydia's Flexitarian Kitchen

  5. Pingback: Couch to 5K- Week 1 | The Crunchy Delinquent

  6. Pingback: Understanding: Couch to 5k | fatness to fitness, our journey

  7. Pingback: Couch to 5K Week 2 | The Crunchy Delinquent

Leave a Reply

