Adventures in Glass Cutting

Just for the record- I’ll be back to blogging regularly on Monday, I’ve been crazy busy this weekend with my grandparents visiting and my nieces and nephew’s birthday parties and getting ready to move and looking at houses…. Busy busy.

But anyways, I figured I’d at least show you what I did today =)

Every glass bottle I ever get (like if my fiance gets a beer or I get peanut butter in a glass jar or something) I hoard them.

I’m a glass bottle hoarder.

I just can’t bring myself to throw them in the recycling because in the back of my mind I know there has to be something I can do with it myself.

It is glass after all. And glass is great.

I saw a fancy picture of a beer bottle planter and decided to test out making one on my bottle stash.

So here’s how to (and how not to) make your own!

You’ll need:

A glass bottle

Cotton yarn

Acetone finger nail polish remover (I got mine for a dollar at the grocery store, I’m sure some of you may have some at home already but I don’t use the stuff)

First rinse out your bottle and remove the labels (if you want, its not really necessary to remove the labels). Take your yarn and wrap it around the bottle 6 times and tie and trim the ends. Like so

glass cutting 003

Next, remove the string and soak it in the nail polish remover. (while its soaking up fill your sink with cool water) Make sure the string is super soaked, the first time I tried this, it was only damp it didn’t cut through the glass. Place it about 3/4 of the way up the bottle. Close to the neck, but not too close as you will be holding the neck while its on fire and you don’t want to burn yourself.

glass cutting 004

About here, maybe a little higher up even.

Now, hold the bottle over the sink and set the string on fire. Slowly twirl the bottle (with the mouth facing you) until the flame is almost out. Right before it goes out (the flame will be small and just blue) dunk it in the water. (I will upload a video of this later on tonight, I’m still trying to figure out how =P)

I had tons of troubles with this. The first time I hit the bottle off the sink faucet and it cracked. The second time the top half was good and the bottom half was cracked. The this time the top was cracked and the bottom wasn’t. All in all I managed to get one whole planter out of it =)

Once its cut through, use sand paper to soften the edges and put the top upside down in the bottom to create the planter.

glass cutting 005

This one obviously didn’t turn out so great.

Way to sharp and cracky =P

Just a note- Be SUPER careful. Glass is crazy sharp when cut like this and will cut you. Don’t do it with your little kids and don’t blame me if you cut yourself lol.

Here’s my final product with one of my aloe plants in it-

nxxx8q7demh46p8r67mahtdyq5mmcoac

70scny255iutw56fslc4k46ihqa5edld

Put soil in the upside down portion with your plant and fill the bottom with water. The water will pull up into the soil as needed.

Self watering planter!

Have fun with your adventures!

X’s and O’s

~Courtney, The Crunchy Delinquent

Leave a Reply

