Officially No-poo!!

I’m so excited!! I finally started my no-poo shower routine =)

[If your like my fiance and think that I mean I’ve giving up pooping, it actually means not using any shampoo =)]

Instead of using ‘traditional’ shampoos and conditioners, I will be using baking soda and vinegar. My reasoning for this is that shampoos cost 4 or 5 bucks a bottle. Essentially, your paying for health hazards and t0 kill your hairs natural beauty. We use chemical filled shampoos pretty much from the time we’re born, so your hair never really has a chance to be naturally beautiful.

So how do you go no-poo?

I take two cups into the shower with me. 1 has about a tablespoon of baking soda and the other has about 2 tablespoons of vinegar.

I first take the baking soda and add shower water to the cup and mix it with my fingers. Then I pour it over my hairs roots and massage it into my scalp.

Then I add some water to the vinegar (I’m using white for now but will switch over to apple cider vinegar once I get more). I pour the vinegar over the ends of my hair and mush my hair around to get it covered and rinse it off.

While your hair is getting used to being cleaned naturally, there’s generally a transitional period of time where your hair will be more oily. This could take anywhere from a couple days to months. Since I just started I don’t know how long it will take for me, but I keep my hair up all the time anyways, so it doesn’t bother me.

This is my hair before, all chemical shampoos and conditioners. Excited to look for change and natural beauty!!

This is my hair before, all chemical shampoos and conditioners. Excited to look for change and natural beauty!!

I’ll update it as I go along and tell  you any differences I notice in my hair =)

So far, after my first wash, my hair feels the same as usual just is slightly more greasy then usual, but not much.

Can’t wait to keep going and documenting my progress! The more natural I go the better I feel about myself, inside and out. I feel physically better and emotionally better, then before. I’m still not as chemical free as I’d like to be yet, but I’m getting there and noticing a difference already. I definitely believe chemicals mess with your body in such ways that your mind and body become off balance with one another. Which can have some pretty devastating effects on ones self.

jhghjb

2 thoughts on “Officially No-poo!!

  1. Pingback: Praise for No Poo | Half Crunchy Mom

  2. Pingback: Chemical Free Beauty Routine | The Crunchy Delinquent

Leave a Reply

